7:34 am
  Search Again
  Local News
  State / National / World
  Opinion / Letters
  Arts / Entertainment
  Submit Event
  Comics / Games
  DJ Designers
  Advertise With Us
  About Us
November election's roster set
August 11, 2012, 05:00 AM By Michelle Durand Daily Journal Staff Report

Six people are vying for three spots on the San Mateo County Harbor Commission — one of several special districts and boards whose November elections are flying lower on the radar than most school and county battles but which are nonetheless now set for the ballot.

Friday marked the filing deadline for the Nov. 6 ballot, primarily the races which did not first require a June primary such as city councils, health care districts and water boards.

The Harbor Commission election is one of the few in which incumbents won't automatically retain their seats. Incumbents Will Holsinger, Leo Padreddi and Pietro Parravano are being challenged by Brandon Kwan, Sabrina Brennan and Neil Merrilees. Brennan previously ran for the commission.

Both incumbents Kim Griffin and Katie Kane are running unopposed for re-election to the Sequoia Healthcare District Board of Directors. Similarly, incumbents Daniel J. Ullyot and Rick F. Navarro have no opponents for re-election to the Peninsula Health Care District board.

Daly City Councilmen David Canepa and Sal Torres are running unopposed for re-election as is City Treasurer Tony Zidich. The same goes for councilmembers Marina Fraser and John Muller in Half Moon Bay. Victor Spano and Karen Ervin are running for two seats on the Pacifica City Council.

Many school leaders will also continue to serve without any competition.

Judy Bush and Maraca Goodman, South San Francisco Unified School District trustees, were both unopposed. It will be a second term for both. In Hillsborough, the filing deadline is Aug. 15 since incumbents Tom Kasten and Christine Krolik are not running for re-election. The Elections Office extends the deadline for office if an incumbent chooses not to run again. Incumbent Vice Mayor Jess Benton is running as is Shawn Christianson and Alvin Royse, which may mean there is no need for an election.

Three of the four seats on the San Mateo County Board of Education up for re-election — held by Rod Hsiao, Jim Cannon and Ted Lempert — were not contested.

Memo Morantes decided not to run for re-election for the area seven seat, which includes Las Lomitas, Menlo Park City, Portola Valley, Ravenswood City and Elementary school districts. Thus far, educational nonprofit director Joe Ross and Jo-Ann Sockolov, executive director for the Redwood City Education Foundation, are running for the seat. The deadline to file for that election is Wednesday, Aug. 15 since Morantes is an incumbent.

While November marks the first candidate showdown in these races, Election Day will be a runoff for several other positions. U.S. Rep. Anna Eshoo, D-Palo Alto, squares off with Dave Chapman, U.S. Rep. Jackie Speier, D-San Mateo, is running against Deborah Bacigalupi, Assemblyman Jerry Hill, D-San Mateo, faces former assembywoman Sally J. Lieber for the newly formed District 13 state Senate seat, Assemblyman Rich Gordon, D-Menlo Park, is running against Chengzhi "George” Yang for the District 24 Assembly seat and South San Francisco Councilman Kevin Mullin and Mark Gilham compete for the District 22 state Assembly seat. Shelly Masur and Warren Slocum are running for the District Four seat on the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors.

Michelle Durand can be reached by email: or by phone: (650) 344-5200 ext. 102.

Print this Page Print this Page |  Bookmark and Share
<< Back

You are in the Archives

  RSS feed RSS
Daily Journal Quick Poll
How much do you spend on groceries every week?

Under $100
Under $200
Under $300
Over $300
Too much!

©2017 Daily Journal - San Mateo County’s homepage